Sometimes the little things turn out to be the big things

Published April 10, 2012 by Dreamreflector

Every time I have driven the motorway between my home town and our capital Helsinki, I have gone into a childlike state of utter cheerfulness at a specific point. For as long as I can remember, an old spruce, has grown in the berm. It was not an ordinary spruce: thanks to some sort of infection, its treetop had grown into a huge ball. I had given the tree a well-fitting nick name “Pallo kuusi” (meaning “the ball spruce”). I have always found it so funny and encouraging at the same time, that such a freak of nature could keep on living. How ever I had never even dared to guess, that some one else might have noticed it, not to mention found it as intriguing as I did.

Today as I was browsing some articles in the website of a local paper, I found something. It was shocking at first, then incredibly touching. An article titled “Moottoritien maamerkki on poissa” (meaning “the landmark of the motorway is gone”). The ball in the treetop had snapped of for it was two heavy -no wonder as the balls diameter was close to two meters :O

At first I was so shocked and sad to hear the faith of my beloved tree. But then I realised something else.

Firstly that someone had actually written an article about that tree! I was not the only one who had noticed. Not at all.

Secondly having scrolled to the end of the article I looked at the comments. There were hundreds and hundreds of them! People commenting on how much they loved the poor tree. “I knew right away having read the headline that it was about the ball spruce. I had a really deep connection to it. Rest in peace.” That person even had the same nick name for the tree ^^

By now everyone’s probably wondering what’s the big idea in all this, right? Any one feel like I’m a delusional hippy? Well I do have a point! And here it is: YOU MIGHT FEEL LIKE NO ONE CARES ABOUT YOU,  ABOUT HOW YOU FEEL, ABOUT WHAT YOU THINK, MAYBE YOU FEEL LIKE NO ONE CARES A COW’S BEHIND ABOUT IF YOU EVEN EXIST. BUT I AM HERE TO TELL YOU TODAY, THAT IT IS NOT TRUE! YOU MIGHT NOT SEE PEOPLE NOTICING OR CARING ABOUT YOU BUT EVEN IF YOU DON’T IT DOES NOT MEAN THAT THEY ARE NOT THERE. THEY ARE THERE. SOME ONE IS ALWAYS THERE. YOU REMEMBER THAT.

Sorry about the shouting there, I had to make sure that if people get bored they’ll at least spot the most important bit C:

Anyway, there’s nothing more to say than Rest in peace Ball spruce <3

Pallokuusi jökötti paikallaan vuosikymmeniä.

And a dream quote: “All [wo]men dream but not equally. Those who dream by night in the dusty recesses of their minds wake in the day to find that it was vanity; but the dreamers of the day are dangerous [wo]men, for they may act their dream with open eyes to make it possible.” ^^

Leave a Reply

